Recipe of the day

image

Tamales

After reading several Tamale recipes I decided to try to make them. This recipe was truly inspiring and as I read the story behind these, it had me thinking of the days I spent in my great-grandmother’s kitchen.
Here is my version…
Day 1
~I used a pork roast and cooked it slowly for about 4 hours.
~Each time I checked it I seasoned it with cumin and chili powder.
~After the pork had cooked for 4 hours…..
~I grilled a skirt steak and added it to the pot with the pork roast.
~I added 4 cups of water with 4 beef bouillon cubes. Seasoned the steak with cumin and cilantro and chili powder.
Then cooked for another 2 hours. (The steak and pork needs to cook until it shreds easily with a fork.)
I also made a batch for vegetarian tamales-
Corn
Black beans
Jalapenos
Red beans
Cheddar cheese
Diced tomatoes
Season with cumin, cilantro and chili powder
Day 2
I followed the instructions for the masa and assembly.
The following is not required but sure made it more fun!
~ made margaritas.
~ good music playing
~comfortable chair
Leave a Reply

